Edsel was an indie rock/post-hardcore band from Washington, DC.

The band originally broke up in 1997, having released four full-length albums, numerous 7″ singles and an EP.

The group reformed in October 2012 for two shows in New York City to celebrate the remastered reissue of their 1995 album, Techniques Of Speed Hypnosis. They have since been included in a Descendents covers compilation by Filter Magazine and played at SXSW in 2013.

The band was formed in 1988 by Sohrab Habibion (guitar and vocals, currently a member of SAVAK), Steve Ward (bass), and Nick Pellicciotto (drums).

Over the years, the group’s members would include Geoff Sanoff (bass; currently an independent sound engineer and producer), Steve Raskin (guitar; Thunderball, Fort Knox Five), Eli Janney (keyboards; Girls Against Boys, The 8G Band), and John Dugan (drums; Chisel, Exit Verse).

Edsel’s first single, “My Manacles,” was the first release on the DeSoto Records label.